Stephen Kahn

Slow Extinction #1

In Uncategorized on January 16, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Slow Extinction.

In less than two weeks I will turn 71. As my father died at the age of 43, I am a bit surprised to find myself alive and fairly healthy, though I can feel my body breaking down slowly and I know that I will die. I have tried to prepare for death in a responsible fashion, creating a will and filling out my final medical directives (e.g.. don’t pound on my chest if I go into cardiac arrest, don’t keep me on life support if I am brain dead, etc.).

As there is some dementia in my family, I suspect there is a considerable likelihood that I will loose my mind before my physical body dies.

Just as each individual human dies, species die. We call it going extinct. Perhaps the most glamorous (to us) extinct species are the dinosaurs. We are still arguing about what wiped them out. It might have been an asteroid hitting the earth or some other phenomena. (Check Wikipedia for more information on these scientific arguments).
It is entirely possible that our species, known as homo sapiens, will go extinct in the 21st Century. A book titled THE SIXTH EXTINCTION by Elizabeth Kolbert argues that humanity will destroy itself. The destruction of our species might happen rapidly. It might occur because of a natural event such as an asteroid hitting the earth or a rampant plague such as ebola running through the entire population of the planet. It might happen because of actions we take such as engaging in nuclear warfare, or generating plagues as weapons of war. It might happen slowly by a variety of causes, though at the moment, global warming seems to top the list.

Is there anything we can do about it? Should we do anything about it?

  1. Hi Random! Great to see you back again, with another cheerful, “feel-good” post. 😉

    How have you been? How old is RG now? Some of us were recently wondering about you, & missing you, over on AJ’s blog, Wandering Views.

    • It’s been six months. RG is named Anne Elise and she is now 12 years old and has a “training bra.” She has no interest in religion, one way or the other. I am confident that she will have a pretty good life here in the future. Religious belief is the most wide-spread mental illness in the history of the human species. Fortunately, I was born mostly immune to it.

    • HI Karen, I have a hamstring strain and in a few hours I will be off to see my doctor and tell him when I am really terminal, I want to be put down. RG, Anne Elise, is now 12 years old. Although as a preschooler and kindergartner she was hell on wheels, she is now so sweet, kind, polite, constructive, etc., it makes my teeth hurt. Hormones do not seem to have kicked in yet, so i still have hope of bad behavior, and perhaps running away to Finland where Mama has a close friend. The Mommies and AE just got back from a trip to Finland, Sweden, and England.

      I am not a gracious winner. Very few people much care about religion any more, except a few crazy people such as your flock. Even most of them don’t believe in Hell any more. I did encounter an old fashioned evangelical at the gym the other day who started telling me about how he had converted thousands of people in India and how there had to be a Hell yadda yadda yadda, you know all the rigamarole. I told him what I thought of people who make up ideas like Hell. I doubt I will see him again, but if I do, I will tell him we can’t talk to each other. I guess my wife is getting me whipped into shape after 50 years of trying.

      I am going to volunteer at a homeless shelter for homeless youth run by a Christian group on our island. They didn’t even demur when I told them I am the second most fanatical atheist in the United States.

      I am thinking about how to approach the homeless youth I encounter on Friday, when I start, unless my doctor has me put away or down today. You may have a better idea, but here is what i have come up with so far:

      “Hello. I’m Steve. When I was young, I didn’t like old people very much. They had lots of advice for me, some of which was stupid and useless and some of which was good and sensible, but none of which was interesting to me.” Now I am old. I still don’t like old people very much and I have no useful or interesting advice for you. Do you have any interesting and useful advice for me?”

  2. Hello, Random. I am thankful Karen O found you. Glad to hear you are doing as well as you are. The Higher Authority, Father God, as we think of Him, has not given up on humanity yet. He keeps calling out to those with ears to hear. He loves the people of His creation even when they turn their backs on Him. I was that way myself. Then I felt the Hound of Heaven tugging gently at me, “Won’t you go with me?” He wanted only the best for me. But I continued to resist. I hope that is where you are, and soon to turn toward H and know He is your BFF.

    • Has anybody ever told you that religious belief is complete bullshit? Are you still alive? The last time we communicated was six months ago.

  3. Hi random. We miss you.

    • Are you still alive? It’s been a while. I doubt you miss me, but tell yourself that you do. I am replying from Hell. Oh, yes, you forgot. It’s completely imaginary.

      • I’m still alive, too, Steve. Over at AJ’s blog, your name still comes up occasionally, as we wonder how you’re doing.

        Can’t believe Anne Elise is 12 already. My grandson Forrest will be five in October, & will be starting kindergarten in late August. Time sure does go by quickly.

Leave a Reply

