Stephen Kahn

Diagnosis vs. Prescription

In Bad news on June 28, 2012 at 1:48 pm

I have been fortunate in that I have not suffered many serious illnesses. The first came in my late 50s. At that time, the doctors did not seem to know what was the matter with me, but they seemed to know what to do, and after a couple of scary days, I rapidly improved.

In my current situation, they seem to know what is the matter with me (bacterial infections of my leg), but the prescriptions have not gone as well as the doctors envisioned. I now suffer from rashes and serious itching. The prescriptions have been changed several times. Each change has produced unpleasant surprises and frustrating disappointments. Yesterday, the Cipro (which worried me) has been dropped. I am continuing with the other treatment for my infection – Cephalexin.

I also received more prescriptions for my itching and rash, going from topical Benadryl to tablets, and adding some other antihistamines. I took them last night, and did go to sleep, but woke up this morning with severe itching. I go in today for more wound care for my infected leg. While this is fascinating to me, and to my wife, who continues to provide wonderful nursing care, I can’t imagine it being of much interest to my poor readers, but if you are still reading this blog, I appreciate your attention and comments.

  1. Here’s my weirdo suggestion: if you are at all open to strange alternative shit — and even if you’re not — it might be worthwhile to try Reiki, which is unusual in that it tends to be beneficial even if the person receiving it thinks it’s complete crap. Luckily we live in a part of the world where energy workers are pretty common. Even if it doesn’t help the infection or the itching, it can “purge” side effects of drugs, which may be useful since you’ve been on several strong ones recently. Usually for stuff like this, one session is enough, or at least causes a measurable improvement.

    Also, don’t die. That would be bad.

  2. I’m sorry you’re having such a hard time with your leg. Some infections these days seem immune to the normal courses of treatment. I hope they hit upon the right course soon.

  3. And I agree with David’s comment – “Also, don’t die. That would be bad.”

  4. David and Karen, Thank you for the replies and suggestions. I am skeptical of Reike, but I will consider it. My world has been very strange, lately. I am trying to stay alive.

  5. Praying for your swift and complete recovery, my friend.

  6. Thank you, Cameryn. I appreciate your thoughts and prayers.

  7. I am sorry to hear that you have hit a speed bump in your healing process, but appreciate the update! We like to know how you are doing, so please do keep us up to date.

Leave a Reply

