Stephen Kahn

.01% of the way to religious belief

In Hard to tell on May 1, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Quite a while back, when I just began writing about cults I belong to, the lovely, intelligent, and ever hopeful of converting me KarenO wrote, “I don’t suppose any of the cults you belong to are religious in nature.”

On the contrary, Karen, my sweetie. [If you will forgive the presumptuous familiarity.] Across the street from the the Island Athletic gymnasium where I work out (yet another of the cults, yet undiscussed) stands Trinity Lutheran Church. On the readerboard each week appears an inspiring message. About a week ago, it said something to the effect of, “Skeptic? Doubter? You are welcome here.”

Of course, readerboards do not have enough space for footnotes. If there were, the footnote would say, “Assuming you are at least 80% of the way to faith.”

In my case, I am at about .01% of the way to faith. Nevertheless, I participate in this evangelical Protestant Christian cult.

  1. So, only 99.99% more to go. 😉

  2. Well, in my experience Lutherans tend to be extremely pleasant people, on the whole. I sincerely hope that is, and continues to be your experience as well.

    • Waxing, my experience with them has been that they are indeed very pleasant people. In fact, I think they have sort of made a religion out of being pleasant, even to people as difficult as I am. Tomorrow morning, however, I will see them again, and to Craig, at least, confess I was unfaithful. (That is, last Saturday, I attended a “church” of unbelievers on the mainland, at some risk to my well-being, though all is well that ends well.)

  3. If you’re ever out our way, consider yourself welcome with us, too! 🙂

  4. Don’t think I will be traveling your way, though I appreciate the offer. Also, my wife and I are different “flavors” [denominations] of atheist, so we would probably drive you crazy with our disputes. One of us would probably be fine, but the two of us together…not such a good idea.

  5. I googled my name and came across this old post: http://online.worldmag.com/2007/10/17/whirled-views-1017/ Made me smile. Hope you’re feeling better.

  6. Cameryn,

    I clicked the link and read the old worldmagblog thread. Boy, I haven’t changed much in the five years since I posted those comments, except I am now older, more atheistic, less witty, closer to senility/dementia, and of course, banned from worldmagblog. I will say again (not aimed at you and Tim in particular, unless you think the shoe fits) that evangelical Christians (like members of most cults) can dish it out, but have a very difficult time when people they dish to, “dish back.”

    I am a compulsive back-disher, much to the dismay of my wife. She is as atheistic as I am, but much more polite and much more committed to avoiding offending. However, be very careful if you choose to offend or trespass on her. She doesn’t look like a bear, but she’s got some grizzly blood in her somewhere, as people have discovered to their surprise and dismay when they pushed too hard.

Leave a Reply

