Stephen Kahn

Don’t be on the bottom of the pecking order

In Bad news on December 3, 2011 at 2:46 am

In September I reported on the death of one of our hens, Little Peep. Recently, another hen at the bottom of the pecking order, Ethel (aka 4 of 4), became ill. My wife removed her quickly from the chicken coop (to protect the other hens from infection) and brought her into in the house in a cage. My wife cared for her tenderly for several days. Recently, we learned about a veterinarian on Whidbey Island who treats chickens and other poultry. Ethel was not doing well; not eating much; not drinking. My wife took Ethel to the vet. The vet examined her and said, “There is nothing that can be done for this hen.” At my wife’s request, he put her to death in a quick and kindly fashion.

My wife came home sobbing. Mortality, whether of pets or people, is a tough row to hoe.

  1. I’m sorry to hear that another hen has passed away. I hope the rest of the holiday seasons will bring you good things.

Leave a Reply

