Stephen Kahn

Are we evolving?

In Hard to tell on June 6, 2011 at 9:40 pm

“Peace and love,” chanted people in the 1960s and 1970s. “Stop the War!” proclaimed the signs they carried. Quite a few wars and quite a few hates have displayed themselves in the headlines of of the newspapers and on the screens of the television sets since then.

If we take a broader and longer view, we see some changes. How long is it since people were kept as slaves for the color of their skin? How long is it since the Iron Curtain fell? How long is it since AIDS-HIV stopped being a death sentence?

Is the following news item a sign of progress or a sign of retardation

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20110601/od_nm/us_australia_meow

Are humans changing? Are we changing for the better?

As I have an Australian correspondent, perhaps she can enlighten me on how to regard this incident. Perhaps David can fill me in from his cats’ perspective.

  1. Believe me, its best to keep well away from Aussie politics. The use of the word ‘feral’ pretty much sums it all up. 😉

  2. Trust me on this. I have not the slightest intention of involving myself in Australian politics beyond the occasional incoherent post on my blog.

  3. I wish I believed we are evolving or that evolution were faster. As it is…all signs point to no most days.

  4. Hello, Kristina. Thanks for stopping in and reading. I am in so much trouble, now–my wife is named “Christina.”

    Anyway, you’re probably right on the evolution, or lack of it, but there are strange things going on in the world.

    Probably Bob Dylan doesn’t know any better than the rest of us, but I will steal from him, anyway:

    Because something is happening
    But you don’t know what it is
    Do you, Mister Jones ?

  5. Meowing is not so bad. In Canadian parliament, they’re a little more direct, calling themselves “sleazebags”, calling fellow-women politicians “dogs”, and accusing themselves of being linked to the mafia. Meanwhile, you’ll find the occasional bloke sleeping in his chair through the whole dysfunctional affair at the taxpayer’s expense. Maybe we shouldn’t be surprised that we are not evolving socially, just surprised that we are not desconstructing more rapidly.

  6. I guess we are just as we always were, only more so.

  7. Good grief. I don’t think we’re really going anywhere, but I may be cynical.

  8. We’re pushing the rock up the hill, up the hill.

  9. Are we changing? Yes. Definitely. For the Better? Unfortunately it’s always too soon to tell.

  10. Hello Jeanne. Thanks for visiting my blog. All we can do is try and change ourselves, one person at a time.

Leave a Reply

