Stephen Kahn

Importance

In Hard to tell on March 27, 2011 at 6:32 pm

“Academic politics are so vicious precisely because the stakes are so small.” Various people have made this observation in various ways.

The problem is: this comment doesn’t just relate to academic politics. It applies to all politics, does it not?

  1. As one who works in higher ed I have to say “Amen to that brother!” The stakes are small on the issues themselves, but they often come at significant costs to others when they get their way.

    And yes, it is exceptionally true for governemntal politics.

  2. Excellent! Pete, I trust that you will vote for me when I run for Whidbey Island chicken catcher, and approve my application to get tenure at the University of Oregon, even though I have not taught a class there for at least 15 years, my classes provided no grades or credit, were at least a hundred miles off campus and what I taught is now at least a hundred years out of date.

    The chickens say “Hi,” by the way. Well, actually they say, “Cluck,” but I translate generously. Moll says, “Peck,” actually, but that’s just her way of getting your attention.

Leave a Reply

