Stephen Kahn

Put agave syrup on your salad while ducking bullets south of the border

In Good news, Humor on March 22, 2011 at 7:27 pm

The sun is shining. The chickens are pecking. No doubt the slugs are slithering. Spring is here.

When it was still winter, there was nothing better for breakfast than my wife’s buckwheat pancakes covered with organic maple syrup. Can we make maple sugar on Whidbey Island? Not that I know of.

Can we grow and harvest our own buckwheat?

Does my brother in Maine or my sister in Vermont make Maple sugar? Not that I know of.

 Do the people who do make maple syrup extend the season as described here? Is it still considered organic if they do?

Can people in Arizona make maple syrup? No, probably not. Perhaps they can make agave syrup.

 As one web site reports:

Agave syrup is approximately 25 to 30 percent sweeter than table sugar and has trace amounts of minerals including calcium, potassium, magnesium, and iron. Agave ranks low on the Glycemic Index, meaning it does not affect blood sugar and insulin levels as much as regular sugar.

Agave is also used to make tequila, so I suppose one can serve oneself tequila pancakes. You may have to use a different name, though, unless you are in Mexico. It’s sort of like the difference between Roquefort cheese and blue cheese.

  1. Could you have a hive and persuade some bees to produce honey for you? Honey on pancakes is almost as good as maple syrup…

  2. Darn it, now I want pancakes with maple syrup.

  3. Many years ago I helped a school principal (who had developed serious bee sting allergies over years) I worked for remove honey from his hive. The bees did not take too enthusiastically to my efforts and let me know what they thought about it.

    It was do-able, but I did not enjoy the process and remain less than enthusiastic at taking it on again.

Leave a Reply

