Stephen Kahn

Slipping on a banana peel

In Uncategorized on February 24, 2011 at 1:44 am

 

As with Vitamin D, potassium is an important part of our diet, and it’s easy to overshoot or undershoot the mark.

This morning I had oatmeal with bananas and raisins for breakfast. My oatmeal was prepared at home, not a McDonald’s. I have depended on bananas as a source of potassium for many years, though it is not something I can easily grow in my not very tropical garden (which at this February Puget Sound moment is covered with snow).

 Bananas may be victims of monoculture and banana republic politics.  At the moment, Chiquita stock seems to be near its high price. I suspect it may be overripe and peeling it might reveal a few bad spots. I’m not smart enough to fool around with “shorting stocks,” but if you want to mess with the stock market, I predict Chiquita is going to slip on a banana peel.

 I may have to diversify my sources of potassium.

 “Good sources of potassium include bananas, citrus juices (such as orange juice), avocados, cantaloupes, tomatoes, potatoes, lima beans, flounder, salmon, cod, chicken, and other meats.”

 Today we dug up some potatoes from under the snow. Our chickens provide eggs but are probably too tough and old to make good meat. Eggs are mediocre as a potassium source. 

Will we start raising chickens for meat or are we too sentimental and squeamish? Giving one’s food sources names is probably not a “top of the food chain” smart move.

  1. I think your closing line explains why Liu refers to me (I’m sure) as “that guy.”

  2. “Little” Liu is as little does. Speaking of does, stay tuned.

  3. I have thing about bananas. Like, mostly I prefer them cooked, in banana bread. Then they’re delicious. On their own? *gak*

  4. I’ll have to look through our seed catalogs and see if we have any seeds for “gak.” My wife tends to like winter squash, but for me, aside from zucchini, which is bland but OK, I tend pass on the squash. My wife, who also does not care for raw bananas, makes a dynamite banana bread.

    Come the collapse, we will probably gratefully eating whatever is at hand. The chickens will be hiding in the ferns, clucking, “We are too tough and too stringy” but it will not help them.

Leave a Reply

