Stephen Kahn

Of whales and geese

In Hard to tell, Humor on February 15, 2011 at 9:45 pm

The BBC/Simon Reeve Tropic of Capricorn book my wife and I are reading has reached Australia and warns us about threats to the Humpback Whales who give birth off the West Coast of Australia. Collapse of civilization affects large and small, from whale to goose.

When I was a child about my granddaughter’s age–she just turned seven years old three days ago–I lived near Echo Park in Los Angeles, a good sized lake and park that looks amazingly similar (except no palm trees) to Seattle’s Green lake where I sometimes stroll with my family. As a child I often walked around Echo Park Lake.

At the time, I didn’t have a chance to make friends with a friendly goose.

And portrayed in the movies and videos of the goose walking beside her human friend and flying beside his motorcycle.

The lake is fairly wrecked and polluted and is about to undergo a major drainage/renovation project, threatening the poor goose’s habitat. She’s probably a bit skeptical of civilization at the moment.

Leave a Reply

