Stephen Kahn

Helpful book about depression

In Good news on February 14, 2011 at 4:55 am

One of the risks of writing about the possible collapse of civilization is that one of my three or four readers or I may become depressed by contemplating this possibility.

A few years ago I succumbed to a bout of clinical depression. For reasons not entirely clear to me, I bounced out of it. After I had recovered to my normal dour perspective, I read an article about combatting depression by a psychologist named Stephen Ilardi, called “Live Like a Cave Man.” By a fortunate coincidence, I had been following the advice given by Dr. Ilardi, and it seemed to be helping me.

The article was available on line for a brief time, but then disappeared because the author was preparing a book.

The entire book has recently been published. I have just ordered a copy for myself. After I receive it and read it, I will write about it on my blog in more detail. In the meantime, you can read more about it at

The Depression Cure Book

or at

Amazon comments and description

[I have no connection to the author, publisher, or the book and receive no money from promoting it on this blog.]

  1. I, too, have had a bout of clinical depression. I didn’t bounce out of it, or at least, not without the aid of SSRI drugs for a year, but it was the catalyst to a change of eating habits for me (less sugar, fewer refined carbs) that has since proven to be extremely useful in keeping the recurrence I dread at bay. That, plus moving to a climate where I can get the levels of sunlight and outdoor exercise that I also need.

    Living like a cave man, huh? Does that mean we all should have kids at age 12 and die by the time we’re forty when our teeth wear out?! 😉

  2. I think you, like me, accidentally slipped into Ilardi’s prescription which includes improved diet, lots of light, lots of exercise, and lots of social contact.

Leave a Reply

